Skip to content

Harry Potter and the Deathy Hallows: Part 2 Review

07/16/2011

WOW! I do not even know where to begin with this. It was amazing – even more than I had hoped for. I’m going to keep this review short and sweet without revealing too many spoilers because I think it better to just see this one for yourself.

[SPOILERS START HERE]

It picks up immediately where Part 1 left off – Voldemort finding the Elder Wand. As a fan of the series, I was pleased with the changes they made to allot for time (even though the two hours flew by). The Battle of Hogwarts was amazing, and everyone cheered when Molly bested Bellatrix in a shattering duel to death. But there was plenty of tear-jerking moments as well. Seeing Fred, Remus, and Tonks dead had me ready to burst into tears as did a few of Snape’s memories.

They did leave out a few things that I had really hoped to see. I was a little disappointed that there was no mention of Dumbledore’s search for the Hallows from his unauthorized biography (I thought I even read somewhere about someone being cast as young Dumbledore) , understandably it would have thrown off the pacing but it’s something I would loved to have seen. They also gloss over Remus and Tonks’ son Teddy, Harry’s godson, with just a fleeting comment. They don’t even show him at King’s Cross at the end (again, I read someone was cast in the roll). Alas we may need to wait for the DVD to see either of those were deleted.

[SPOILERS END HERE]

See, short and sweet. I’d actually love to see it a second time, perhaps in 3D… I’m sad to see it come to end, but – like the books – it has it’s happy ending. And while Harry’s adventures are over, we can always re-live them through the books and films.

MY SCORE: (A) An amazing end to an amazing series. Fan or not, it will be one you’ll enjoy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

