Skip to content

What I’m reading this week

09/24/2011

This weeks haul was great, so I’m just going to jump right in with…

Legion of Super-Heroes #1

Now this is what I want when I read about the Legion of Super-Heroes. It takes me back to the days when I first started reading comics, the LOS in particular. The main story focuses on an undercover mission on Panoptes with a squad of some of my favorites – Chameleon Boy, Phantom Girl, and Ultra Boy – with two new (new to me, anyway) characters Dragonwing and Chemical Kid (a re-imagined Chemical King?), I won’t spoil anything for those who haven’t read it, but I think it’s going to be a pretty good storyline.

And the side stories interest me just as much: Mon-El as leader butting heads with Brainy who thinks (because of experience, tenure, and 12th Level Intellect) that he should be leader, Colossal Boy in mourning leaves to join Starfleet, and Star Boy and some of the sexiest ladies of the 31st Century discussing Flashpoint’s effect on time travel. These extra layers added in help to expand the Universe and give you a better picture of what’s going on from different angles – something I was missing with Legion Lost last month. Also, LOS, unlike its sister book, isn’t making me  feel like I missed out on something when I picked it up – following a new story from the beginning, not the middle of the adventure.

Red Hood and the Outlaws #1

Despite a lot of negative things I’d been hearing from friends, I thought Red Hood and the Outlaws was a really fun and interesting read. In fact, this is the kind of series I was expecting from Grifter.

When Marvel started the Ultimates line, they took the Universe and stood it on it’s side. The new 52 feels like a slightly off-kilter version of the same Universe, not a total re-invention as promised, but this book changes my perspective. I’m not up on Jason Todd/Red Hood as he’s still fairly new, even in the original DCU, but Red Arrow and Starfire, two of my favorite Teen Titans, seem brand new.

Starfire’s always been a bit of a sexpot, but here she’s been cranked up to a whole new level. Maybe a little too much so. They’ve stated that as an alien she has difficulty telling humans apart or really distinguishing them other than male and female. In fact, she’s sleeping regularly with Jason, hooks up with Roy, and is rumored to have been in a relationship with Dick (though she can’t remember him) in just the first issue! And is totally unphased by the fact that, to humans, it’s a bit trampy.

That small issue aside – I don’t know if this series is going to make it for the long-haul, but as long as I’m getting a chuckle from the (not so) subtle innuendo and enjoying the action-packed pages, I’ll be reading it.

Batman #1

WOW! I don’t even know what to say other than: READ THIS BOOK. I couldn’t flip the pages fast enough to find out what was going to happen next. If you’re curious about the new 52 or just about this issue, grab it, you won’t be sorry. Of the DCnU books I’ve picked up so far, this is #1 on my list.

(EDIT: I had more to say, LOTS more, but I’m editing it out, just read it and you’ll see for yourself.)

 

 

 

 

Ultimate Comics X-Men #1

I’ve been getting really, really bored with mainstream Marvel and the Fear Itself event, especially since the kid Loki storyline is over in Journey Into Mystery. So, I’ve been following what’s happening in the Ultimate Universe a bit more closely than I have since it first started. A new Spider-Man is wowing me, so I thought I might give the new X-Men a chance as well.

I hope this isn’t too big a spoiler but: Mutants were the product of US government experiments. Yeah, forget evolution and natural selection – mutant powers were developed in laboratories with Mutant X (Wolverine) and then “spread like a virus.” Add this to a Post-Ultimatum Wave America and you get rioting in the streets where all mutants are seen as a threat and are considered terrorist. There’s a lot going on: Jimmy Hudson -Wolverine’s son- wants answers, Kitty, Johnny, and Bobby (who are laying low post-Death of Spider-Man) have to reveal themselves to save former-teammate Rogue, and Karen Grant (former Jean Grey) is trying to recruit new mutants to a safe, new “school.” I’m curious to see where this heads – it’s what the mainline X-Men comics having have been building to for years, sadly the future Magneto foresaw (and caused in his paranoia). The good guys are now the “terrorists” and have to rebuild mankind’s trust from the ground up. I can’t wait to see where they take this.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

