Skip to content

Heroica: Ganrash Review

01/23/2013

For those of you who read my post yesterday, you know that I’m very excited to say I finally have my very own Heroica: Ganrash set! Again, my thanks to both Mike and LEGO Jordan for their kindness.ganrash-30170

Ganrash is a quick, little add-on to the Heroica game that was sold as a polybag promo outside of the US. Though there is little official information on Ganrash, it’s thought to be a goblin encampment on the coast of Draida Bay. Which makes sense since both sets have goblins and a coastal look to them.

There’s no “boss” in the Ganrash add-on, just a Lv. 1 Goblin Warrior and Lv. 2 Goblin Guardian which, if connected to Draida Bay, give the small map a little more depth and challenge. Aside from the bonus Luck Potion, there is a new treasure item: the Blades of Bounty. These have a unique trait that makes the set a must-have. If you defeat a monster while the BoB are in your possession, you roll the die again for a bonus. If you roll the sword, you get 1 gold piece, the shield gives you 2 gold pieces, but rolling the skull or skull/sword earns you nothing.

There’s a lot of depth in this one little set, more than a larger expansion like its Draida Bay companion. Sadly, this may be the last of Heroica – rumor has it that they put an end to the series. And there were so many more areas they had yet to explore. I was hoping for a few more “terrain” sets like a volcano or snow/ice set. But that’s the fun of the game, and indeed LEGOs themselves: there’s always room for customization!

My Score: (A-) A great little addition to the game, and well worth the wait and frustration of trying to find one! The Blades of Bounty alone are worth the the purchase. My one complaint: I wish it were bigger!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike permalink
    02/15/2013 3:58 PM

    I stopped by TRU today to check out the Lego polybags (they release new ones regularly: Star Wars for me, Friends for my daughter, LOTR for my stepson, and anything that catches my eye) and I figured I’d grab yet another Ganrash If there was nothing, since they had lots of them last week. I walked up and down the aisles looking for them and eventually asked an employee. She told me they were discontinued and when I asked where they were, she said they were packed up as returns. At least I grabbed a few while they lasted. I was hoping to make a goblin encampment, but I guess I have enough that I shouldn’t be too saddened to see them gone.
    On a happy note, I felt out the series 9 mini-figure bags and picked up a cyclops for a Heroica monster mod and I picked up the Galaxy Squad polybag for the giant insect to add as a Heroica monster boss as well.

  2. Mike permalink
    09/25/2013 8:21 PM

    Hi again, just wanted to mention to you that while I’m sure you’re aware, the lotr battle of helms deep looks really compatible with Heroica. I had a friend send me a copy as well as the battle of both game from Europe. I haven’t had a chance to assemble it, but there are some interesting things in it like a length of chord to determine archery range and the die is pretty much the same as the heroica die. The game mechanics also give a good basis for playing pvp.

Leave a Reply

